Cake for Dinner

Birthday CakeAhh.  Nothing like the smooth taste of a piece of white birthday cake smothered with a heaping helping of butter cream icing.  As it passes through my cake-hole, leaving a film of grease along my palate, a couple of swigs of hot black coffee clears the way quite nicely…for another bite.

As the day came to a close and the dust settled on another birthday celebration, the kids seemed quite disinterested in having dinner.  Their bellies were full of cake, ice cream, strawberry soda, M&Ms, and no telling what else.  I’m not really sure why I was thinking of dinner either, given all the junk that has passed through my gullet today, but when my belly clock agrees with the wall clock, it surely must be dinner time.  I asked my better half if we should just have cake for dinner, and she seemed to be in agreement.

Maybe I really should have just had cake for dinner!  It may have been less detrimental on my long term health than the ham, turkey, and double cheese sandwich I ate, topped with a generous portion of mayo, followed by the aforementioned piece of birthday cake, my second of the day.  I’m a mess, but my stomach sure feels full now.

We attempted to trick the kids tonight, but not sure how that’s gonna pan out.  That wonderful time of year has arrived when we get to “spring forward”, as they say.  Katrina and I agreed earlier in the evening that we should just go ahead and set the clocks forward, and then just go to bed extra early.  The kids seem to be going along with it so far.  Does that mean we don’t lose an hour of sleep, or that we just get to lay there wide awake for an hour longer?  Well, I don’t know about everyone else in the house, but I’m feeling a butter cream coma coming on, so I should snooze quite nicely.  I think this time change business is for the birds, but since my eyelids are getting heavy and it’s technically only around 8:30, I’ll….have…….to……..finish..(yawn)….this in………the morning!

It’s morning.  After a wild night of storms which delivered a generous portion of thunder, lightning and rain, the sun somehow knew how to come across the horizon.  Although shielded by thick cloud cover, the light of day certainly did arrive.  It didn’t care what the clocks said.  It just came as God ordered it.

“The sun also rises, and the sun goes down, and hastens to the place where it arose.”  Ecclesiastes 1:5

The trickery of this time change madness has cast a spell of sorts on the five little people of the house.  I’ll have to prod them along soon enough to let them know that their body clock does not seem to be in agreement with the one on the wall.  While they may not really appreciate it this morning, I’m sure they’ll be tickled tonight when they have an additional hour to roam around the hillside.

Time to get ready for church!

“Serve the Lord with gladness; come before His presence with singing.”  Psalm 100:2

Written by David Steen, with God smiling, March 9-10, 2013

This entry was posted in Birthdays, Children, Coffee, Faith, Family, Food, God, Spring, Time, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

